What is “My Jihaad”

Assalamu Alaykum to my Muslim sisters and brothers; Welcome to all non-Muslims readers.

 

This is only my first post so I’ll try to keep things brief. I won’t spend a lot of time trying to discuss the messy details of what jihad is or isn’t (that’ll be discussed over the course of many many other blog entries!) I will simply explain why this blog is “My Jihad” and my intentions with this blog.

 

First, a very little bit about jihad. Ibn al-Qayyim (may Allaah have mercy on him) said: “jihad is of four kinds: Jihad al-nafs (jihad against one’s self), jihad al-Shaytaan (jihad against the Shaytaan), jihad against the kaafirs and jihad against the hypocrites.” From the sunnah of Abu Dawud: “Narrated Anas ibn Malik:The Prophet (peace_be_upon_him) said: Use your property, your persons, and your tongues in striving against the polytheists.” (book 14, hadith 2498)

 

Yes, part of what jihad means involves fighting. However, I am a woman and the fighting is not for the women except in certain cases when it becomes necessary (which will be discussed later.) I am also not in a situation where there is fighting so I strive for religion to be only for Allah through the dawah of this blog. Through this blog I mainly will share my struggle, my jihad, against my self and against Shaytaan. Not every post is going to be religiously over-toned either. You may often find me regaling you with tales of my everyday life as I strive to be a better Muslimah. And through these posts I hope to also strive against the kaafirs, hypocrites, and polytheists by means of my “tongue” (or writing, rather.)

 

I may play around with the templates a bit in the beginning and I don’t have a definitive “plan” with this blog just yet either. There will be a handful of posts about jihad of course, though (like many other Muslim blogs) I’ll likely post on other topics from time to time, as well as share articles, lectures, and fatawa of interest. However this will largely be a chronicle of my own personal growth and my own personal jihad. So join me in “My Jihad” and see how this Muslimah strives for the sake of Allah.

Leave a Reply

